I got tagged on Facebook – therefore I am?

Cogito ergo sum – I think, therefore I am.
A famous phrase taken from Descartes and used, lived and quoted for decades, centuries… (even though it was first published in French – “je pense donc je suis”, but I guess the latin translation made it more “philosophical” and therefore preferred).
I can even remember myself back in the high-school-days using this quote in an essay of some kind, but then again, when I was in high school, we didn’t upload random pictures from our mobile phones and tagged people in them on Facebook; nor did we twitter live from the classroom and there were definitely no people becoming “almost-millionaires” because “they had a successful blog”…

I joined Facebook back in 2006 after meeting a bunch of college students from the US, and didn’t think much about it until the day when all of a sudden all my old childhood friends, my sister and cousins, my everyday friends and colleagues started to join. “I’m just gonna check my Facebook”, “I’m gonna send you a message on Facebook” became a standard expression, and all of a sudden, most of my social life circulated around this social network called Facebook.
All of a sudden it became possible to follow people’s life a bit closer, for the good, and for the bad. Of course, it is a great tool for keeping in touch, for sharing and chatting, for being close in some way even when far away. BUT, do I really need to know all this about all these people? Do I really need so see my colleague’s new-year-party-pictures? Do I really need to know how HAPPY everyone is, and how fantastically well it went for everyone? Is it just me, or does Facebook create social pressure?
“That dude Dave who was on the party last night, he seemed nice, and I found his Facebook-profile and he has like 500 friends…. he must be a social guy”

Cogito ergo sum – replaced with “I got tagged on Facebook, therefore I am”???

Anyway, as we are on the topic Facebook I might as well share some more thoughts about it, so give it up for the first LIKE/DISLIKE-list on this blog 🙂

THINGS I LIKE WITH FACEBOOK:
* Ability to keep in touch with people (very true, and living far away from friends facebook really helps)
* Ability to waste time at work 😉
* Learning and seeing interesting posts everyday when scrolling through the newsfeed…

THINGS I DISLIKE WITH FACEBOOK:
* That there is NO DISLIKE button (but only a “like”-button) 🙂
* That it’s hard to say no to her when mum wants to add you as a friend, and all the time you have to spend “cleaning up” your photos and settings before “accepting” the friendship
* Farmville, Mafia wars and all other lame games PLUS all the lame posts people do regarding them…
* That I find myself browsing around Facebook when I’m sad and I get more sad and jealous on other people as they seem to have a perfect life compared to me 😉

About sunshinediary

Just another woman, in another town, on another street. Living the same life, same loves, same losses, same happiness and same shit as most people. Having problems, solving problems, seeking happiness... you know, the usual shit.
This entry was posted in Social networks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

