need a life…..coach?

I have always been wondering what a “life coach” does, especially since this seem to be a rather growing profession in terms of popularity, and I have also met some people calling themselves “coach” in some kind of way on my travels. Of course, I am biased here, as I met them while traveling, but it seems like a profession which kind of gives you the opportunity to take time off when you feel like it and go travel.

I met a friend a while ago, let me see… must have been around 8 years ago, when traveling the beautiful forests of Oregon (US). He used to tell me “my father is a hippie and my mother is a traveler, they do whatever they feel like, and when they need cash, my dad does some “life-coach-sessions” for business people and makes good money out of it”. Basically, he made it sound like his dad’s job was to just sit in a chair and listen to stressed people complain and then advised them to stress less and made money out of it.

Don’t get me wrong, I guess there are wonderful people out there who actually DO manage to help people change their lives… but what happened to trying to fix your own life before trying to find someone to fix it for you? I believe that a big part of the problem is actually to find the problem and define it to start with. Most people who are unhappy seem to not be 100% sure themselves why they are not happy. I have this quite often myself; waking up in the morning and just feeling that my life is shit – but if I then try to be honest with myself and asking myself WHY my life is shit… I cannot find any answer.

Can it be that the fact that I am part of the population which has the privilege to NOT have to worry about food on the table and money for the rent that I worry so much? Do humans ALWAYS need something to worry about? I am not sure, but I am starting to think that this is the case. Back to the evil spiral of all human minds I guess… we always want more…

One thing is for sure… I will be working hard on living my life, and enjoying it. I will be working hard to try to understand why I am sad when I am sad. I hope that I if anyone will be able to understand what is going on in my head, and it makes me kind of scared to think about that there are people out there who might be able to understand me better than I do myself.

We can all learn, and thus by default also teach. Life should be an exchange between ideas and knowledge, and I still live by the idea that “you learn something new everyday”.

About sunshinediary

Just another woman, in another town, on another street. Living the same life, same loves, same losses, same happiness and same shit as most people. Having problems, solving problems, seeking happiness... you know, the usual shit.
This entry was posted in Daily life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

